Exterminis: Reign of Destruction


Characters are defined by a set of eight physical and mental characteristics. These are strength, agility, health, speed, intelligence, wisdom, willpower, and charisma. Each of these is quantified on a percentile scale from 1-100, with one being the absolute worst score, and 100 being the absolute best score. A score between 40-60 is considered average for human characters. 

A score of 75 means the character is better than 75% of the people in the world of Exterminis, while a score of 25 means 75% of the world’s population is better than the character. 

Beginning characters get 500 points to distribute among the characteristics as they see fit, so long as at least 20 points are placed in each one, and no score is raised above 100. A brief description of the characteristics is given below.

The Characteristic Chart

The chart below shows which modifiers are used in certain situations, such as extra attacks and carrying capacity, as well as the die codes that are used in opposed tests and conflict codes.          

Raw Score  Modifier Die Code
01-20 -1 1d4
21-40 0 1d6
41-60 +1 1d8


81-99  +3 1d12
100 +4 2d8


Strength represents the physical capabilities of the character. It affects how much damage weapons cause, as well as determining how much weight the character can lift or carry. Warriors usually have a very high strength score.


Endurance represents the overall toughness of the character, how much damage they can sustain before dying, and how resistant they are to poison and disease. It is an extremely important characteristic for all characters, but it is especially important for warriors.


Agility represents the manual dexterity of the character, as well as balance, grace, and the ability to dodge and get out of harm’s way. It affects how well the character attacks and defends in physical combat, and how sneaky the character is,  Rogues usually have a very high agility score.


Speed represents the reaction and movement abilities of characters. It determines when characters act in combat, as well as how far they can move in a turn. Some characters with exceptionally high speed scores can attack more than once every round.


Intelligence represents the memory, knowledge, mental acuity, and “book smarts” of characters. It determines how well characters solve problems, take tests, and make connections between different people and events. It is the characteristic mages use for casting spells.


Wisdom represents the intuition, insight, and “street smarts” of characters. It determines how well characters understand people and animals, how well they notice characters using stealth, and how quickly they notice hidden or secret things in their environment.


Charisma represents the charm, leadership, and “people skills” of characters. It determines how easily the character can influence others, intimidate enemies, and talk their way out of tricky situations. It is especially important for priests.


Willpower represents the mental toughness of characters. It determines how well characters defend against magical attacks, as well as how much mental and emotional damage they can withstand before succumbing to despair. It is a very important characteristic of all characters.

Derived Characteristics

Akasha is the number of “spell points” spellcasters can spend each month (28 days). It is equal to your intelligence, wisdom, or charisma score (your choice). The points regenerate once every month: at the new moon or at the full moon. Unused points are lost when points regenerate.

Health Points represent the amount of damage your character can take before dying. They are equivalent to your endurance ability score. If your endurance score is 55, then you can take 55 points of damage before you die. When a character takes physical damage, the points are subtracted from the health point total. After resting for at least 6 hours, wounded characters roll their endurance die code to see how many health points they recovered during the rest. If a character spends seven days resting or doing light activity, all health points are restored.

Initiative determines when characters act in combat. It is equivalent to your speed score. A combat round lasts for about five seconds, during which characters can perform one action, such as attack an opponent. The combat round counts down from 100, and everyone acts on their speed score. So if your speed score is 70, you will act after someone who has a speed of 80, but before someone who has a speed of 60. 

Mental Health Points represent how resilient and mentally tough characters are. They are equivalent to the character’s willpower characteristic. If your character’s willpower score is 45, then you have 45 mental health points. After resting for at least 6 hours, characters roll their willpower die code to see how many mental health points were restored by the rest. If a character spends seven days resting or doing light activity, all mental hit points are restored.

Movement describes how far the character can move in a single combat round. It is equal to 1/2 the speed score, rounded down. If your speed score is 80, you can move 40 feet per round.

Exterminis: Reign of Destruction

Characteristic Tests

There are two types of characteristic tests: Opposed and Unopposed. When someone is actively working against your efforts, the situation calls for an opposed chracteristic test. To resolve this test, each participant rolls the appropriate die code. The highest total wins.

An arm wrestling contest is resolved by having both participants roll their Strength die codes. The one who rolls highest wins. Ties are usually awarded to the defender, but players may spend a karma point to win the tie.

In an unopposed test, no one is actively working against your efforts; it’s a case of you versus your environment. To resolve these situations, roll percentile dice. If you roll lower than (or equal to) the associated characteristic’s raw score, you succeed. Roll higher, and you fail.

If you are trying to decipher a hidden message, the GM might have you make an unopposed Intelligence check. If you roll lower than your intelligence score, they might give you an extra clue to help you figure it out.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This