The Laws of Sorcery


Akasha is generated once per day, or every 24 hours. Once a player decides when they will regenerate Akasha, they cannot change it unless they go seven days without spending a single Akasha. On the eighth day, they can choose a different time to hold their ritual. each time they wish to change their ritual time, they must spend another seven days without spending Akasha.

The ritual itself requires one hour of uninterrupted time. A Mage who is interrupted while performing their ritual cannot regenerate Akasha until the next time for their ritual. However, they don’t lose any unspent Akasha from the previous day.

Spell Force

The force of a spell is the number of Akasha the mage spends to cast the spell. Since Mages have a limited amount of Akasha they can spend each day, most Mages hold a few points in reserve, “just for emergencies.” That being said, a Mage can certainly spend all of their Akasha on a single spell if they choose. Dumping 20 points into a 10d6 ball of lightning might just be the only way to defeat a powerful enemy.

Spell Duration

There are two possible spell durations: Instant, and Channeled. A Mage only has to pay the Akasha cost for an Instant spell once. Channeled spells last for as long as the mage wishes them to, but he must pay the Akasha cost each round (in combat) or each hour (outside of combat) to keep the spell running. Channeled spells cast during combat cannot be maintained once combat ends, and channeled spells cast outside of combat cannot be maintained once combat begins. A Mage can only have one channeled spell active at a time.

Spell Targets

There are two possible targets for a spell: individual and area. By default, all spells affect one target at a time. However, the mage can change that to an area effect spell by doubling the akasha cost. The area of effect is a spherical area (force x5) feet in diameter. A force 6 fire bolt can be cast as a force 6 fire ball by spending 12 akasha instead of 6. The resulting spell will affect all creatures in a spherical area of 30 feet.

 The Spheres of Magic

All spells fall into one of five categories, called the Elemental Spheres of Magic. Mages can access all five spheres when they learn how to gather Akasha. The five spheres are:

  • Earth: Deals with transformation magic. The force of the spell determines how long the transformation lasts. In combat, transformation spells last (force) rounds. Outside of combat, transformation spells last (force) hours. The force of the spell is also added to the mystic defense die code if anyone tries to dispel the effect.  Earth spells are used to create gusts of wind, alter a person’s physical appearance, change a person, object, or animal into another form, or to mold raw material into a more usable form.
  • Air: Deals with illusions. The force of the spell determines how long the illusion lasts, in hours. The force of the spell is also added to the Magical Attack die code if anyone attempts to disbelieve the illusion. Illusions that mimic the effects of Fire spells (an illusionary fireball, for example) do not damage health points, but damage mental health points instead. The target cannot use armor points to absorb this damage.
  • Fire: Deals damage. It doesn’t matter what form the spell takes; it can be fire, ice, lightning, poison, water, a rock…anything. It all comes from the Elemental Sphere of Fire. Spells do (force) d6 damage to a single target with a successful Magical Attack. At your discretion, certain damage types might cause extra damage or special effects, based on the target’s vulnerabilities. For example, firing a silver bolt at a werewolf might cause extra damage. 
  • Water: Heals damage and removes harmful effects. (Force)d6 damage healed, or (Force) bonus to Magical Defense roll to remove harmful effects. For game purposes, all harmful effects such as poison or disease are magical in nature. When they are created, the creationist rolls his Magic Attack dice. The total becomes the target number to remove the effect. To remove the effect, the healer rolls (force d6) to try and roll higher than the target number. 
  • Spirit: Spells that affect the mind. The force of the spell determines how many tasks will be performed, the number of questions answered, or simply the damage (force d6) to mental health points. Damage to mental health points cannot be assigned to armor.

Spellcasting Example

Abraxis wants to fire a force 3 magical bolt of lightning at a goblin. His Spell Attack die code is 3d6 +3. The goblin has a Spell Defense roll of 2d6 +2. Abraxis rolls a 14, and the goblin rolls an 8, so Abraxis rolls (force d6) for damage. Since he spent three Akaska to cast the spell, he rolls 3d6. He rolls a 14, and the goblin falls over dead, fried to a crisp.

The Laws of Magic

There are three universal laws that govern the use of magic:

  1. Mages have no power over life or death.
  2. Mages have no powers of creation or destruction.
  3. Mages cannot create permanent magical effects.

Mages cannot simply order a creature to die, nor can they return a creature to life. They cannot create objects from nothing, nor can they destroy existing objects. Finally, nothing lasts forever. All spells have a limited duration.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This